Only four teams remain after the first day of finals

The first day of the Alienware Awesome Cup #2 finals is over and only four teams are left in the competition. The action continues with more best of three serieses tomorrow (28th, 16 CEST onwards).

Sixteen teams are already down to four after today. The top seeded teams coming into the playoffs were Team BOOM as well as Spade & His Incredible Team, both of which reached their way into the winner bracket final and will face off tomorrow at 16 CEST. In the lower part of the bracket is fourth seed Ion going up against American team BO$$ who finished 11th place in the regular season but as high as third place in the first Awesome Cup finals.

In the last round of day one, Ion managed to take out the reigning champion 99 cents to make it into the prized four team pool. The four team pool also marks the point where teams stop lingering at the edge of elimination since the road of the loser bracket has so far only been consisted of best of one series. Japanese team AKIO who performed well throughout the entire tournament fell to Team BO$$ just before being able to reach the final day.

Upper Bracket

Round 1

BO3
BOOM
2
HVT
0
Nautorious
2
BBQ
0
.ion
2
LaMo
0
99¢
0
BO$$
2
s&
2
CDC
0
Gelati
2
3HM
0
Ninja
2
Nautworthy
1
[AKIO]
2
GAS
0

Round 2

BO3
BOOM
2
Nautorious
0
.ion
2
BO$$
0
s&
2
Gelati
0
Ninja
0
[AKIO]
2

Round 3

BO3
BOOM
2
.ion
1
s&
2
[AKIO]
0

Round 4

BO3
BOOM
2
s&
0

Lower Bracket

Round 1

BO1
HVT
1
BBQ
0
LaMo
0
99¢
1
CDC
0
3HM
1
Nautworthy
1
GAS
0

Round 2

BO1
Ninja
1
HVT
0
Gelati
0
99¢
1
BO$$
1
3HM
0
Nautorious
1
Nautworthy
0

Round 3

BO1
Ninja
0
99¢
1
BO$$
1
Nautorious
0

Round 4

BO1
.ion
1
99¢
0
[AKIO]
0
BO$$
1

Round 5

BO3
.ion
2
BO$$
0

Round 6

BO3
s&
1
.ion
2

Final

BO5
BOOM
3
.ion
1

Final day schedule

16 CEST / 10am EST / 07am PST -- BOOM vs Spade, best of 3
16 CEST / 10am EST / 07am PST -- ion vs BO$$, best of 3
18 CEST / 12pm EST / 09am PST -- Loser bracket final, best of 3
20 CEST / 2pm EST / 11am PST -- Grand final, best of 5

The team coming from the winner bracket will start 1-0 in the grand final. Ping test will settle the host, the team coming from loser bracket will decide who gets to start picking the first Naut. After that the team losing a game will decide who goes first in the next game.

The stream of the final day will start the broadcast at 18 CEST / 12pm EST / 09am PST. All replays of the first playoffs day can be found here.

 

Comments

Matchticker

There are currently no live or upcoming matches.